BBC Sports Personality of The Year Winner Odds Comparison - TV

Raheem Sterling7.5010976
Lewis Hamilton11117.501111
Dina Asher-Smith1011111111
Anthony Joshua131191313
Tyson Fury2113111721
Owen Farrell1717152115
Geraint Thomas1717152115
Joe Root1717152115
Andrew Murray21211826-
Ronnie O'Sullivan3467.502634
Eoin Morgan2121212623
Stephanie Houghton2626262123
Laura Muir2921212626
Rory McIlroy2626212626
Ben Stokes2626262623
Alun Wyn Jones2126263423
Katarina Johnson-Thompson2626263423
Chris Froome292926-34
James Anderson3426---
Harry Kane4126262641
Georgia Hall-34---
Carl Frampton-34---
Chris Eubank-34---
Bryony Frost2634345129
Gary Anderson--34-41
Tommy Fleetwood3441---
Jonny Bairstow34-345134
Dylan Hartley3451343441
Johanna Konta414134-41
Jonathan Rea414141-34
Jos Buttler3441415141
Justin Rose3441515141
Mo Farah5151413441
Maro Itoje5151515151
Jordan Pickford-51---
Kieran Trippier-51---
Toni Duggan51-51-51
Sam Curran51-51-51
Max Whitlock-51---
Nicola Adams-51---
Jason Kenny-51---
John Stones-51---
Greig Laidlaw-51---
Danny Care-51---
Dele Alli-51---
Kyle Edmund6751515167
Marcus Rashford6751-5167
Mark Cavendish101-51-81
Mark Williams101-101-81
Adam Peaty101101101-81
Jasmin Paris10110110110181
Jamie Murray-101---
Harry Maguire-101---
Ian Poulter-101---
Judd Trump101-101-101
Jordan Henderson-101---
Adam Gemili-101---
Amir Khan101-101-101
Darren Till101----
Matthew Fitzpatrick-101---
Laura Kenny-101---
Paul Casey-101---
Tyrrell Hatton-101---
Tom Daley101-101-101
Tai Woffinden101101101-126
Moeen Ali101-101-126
Mark Selby151-101-126

Trying to predict who will win the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award months in advance is a task fraught with peril. Much will depend on how England get on at the World Cup in Brazil this summer. If – by some miracle – they win the thing, Wayne Rooney or Steven Gerrard would surely get first and second. If Roy Hodgson’s men flop, they won’t get a look-in. But read on to find out our early thoughts on the matter along with the latest betting odds for this fascinating contest.

Of course, this award has little to do with “personality” at all and is really about “achievement”. Andy Murray won it last year after finally winning Wimbledon, while Bradley Wiggins won the year before after winning Olympic Gold and the Tour de France. With Murray having gone off the boil somewhat, we can’t see him having as good a season this year and the best betting odds of 12/1 with BetVictor for him to win for a second time are not tempting.

Lewis Hamilton, meanwhile, is the favourite at best odds of 29/21 with William Hill on the basis that he will probably win the Formula 1 Drivers Championship. But Hamilton only managed second place in SPOTY last time he won the championship (in 2008 when cyclist Chris Hoy was preferred, albeit in an Olympic year) and if anyone rises to glory in any other sport we think they’ll get the better of Hamilton.

A good outside bet at this stage would be to back Rooney at 50/1 with BetVictor. Paul Gascoigne won it in 1990 after crying at the World Cup, so if Wazza actually scores a few goals and England make it to the quarters or semis in style, that could be a very good value bet. Big “ifs”, of course, but at this early stage we’re lumping on Rooney at massive betting odds.

Betting Tools